Lark Rise to Candleford, Hardback Book

Lark Rise to Candleford Hardback

3 out of 5 (1 rating)


Lark Rise to Candleford is Flora Thompson's classic evocation of a vanished world of agricultural customs and rural culture. The trilogy of Lark Rise, Over to Candleford, and Candleford Green tells the story of Flora's childhood and youth during the 1880s in Lark Rise, in reality Juniper Hill, the hamlet in Oxfordshire where she was born. Through the eyes of Laura, the author's fictional counterpart, Flora describes the cottages, characters, and way of life of the agricultural labourers and their families with whom she grew up; seasonal celebrations, schooling, church-going, entertainment and story-telling are described in fond and documentary detail. Later, when Laura leaves school and becomes assistant to the village postmistress, the same loving detail brings vividly to life the rural post office and its staff.

This new edition of the trilogy reproduces the original wood-engravings by Julie Neild and includes a new introduction by Phillip Mallett which looks at the background to the books and their enduring popularity.


Other Formats



Item not Available
Free Home Delivery

on all orders

Pick up orders

from local bookshops


Showing 1 - 1 of 1 reviews.

Review by

This was written more in the style of a journal, than a work of provided the background for the TV series, but not the story. Lark rise describes the habits and living rhythms of the hamlet. Over to candle ford described the people in more depth. Candleford Green describes Laura's life at the Post Office. I enjoyed the background material on the series, but none of the books filled me in on the episodes I missed.