Please note: In order to keep Hive up to date and provide users with the best features, we are no longer able to fully support Internet Explorer. The site is still available to you, however some sections of the site may appear broken. We would encourage you to move to a more modern browser like Firefox, Edge or Chrome in order to experience the site fully.

A Murder Inside : The first mystery in a brand new classic crime series, EPUB eBook

A Murder Inside : The first mystery in a brand new classic crime series EPUB

Part of the Brackerley Prison Mysteries series

EPUB

Please note: eBooks can only be purchased with a UK issued credit card and all our eBooks (ePub and PDF) are DRM protected.

Description

'Has a charm, and mystery, all of its own' THE TIMES

'Frances Brody has made it to the top rank of crime writers' DAILY MAIL

The first historical mystery in a new classic crime series from bestselling author Frances Brody. This is the perfect locked room page-turner for fans of Agatha Christie and Jacqueline Winspear.
___________

1969. A job in the Prison Service is not for everyone. The training is hard, the cells are bleak and a thick skin is needed. But for Nell Lewis, helping prisoners is something she cares about deeply, and when she's promoted into a new post as governor of HMP Brackerley in Yorkshire, she's tasked with transforming the renowned run-down facility into a modern, open prison for women.

Just as Nell is settling into her new role, events take a dark turn when a man's body is discovered in the prison grounds. The mystery deepens still when one of their female inmates goes missing, ensuing a search across the country.

Can Nell resolve the sinister happenings at HMP Brackerley, before anyone else is put in danger?
___________

What readers are saying about Frances Brody:

'Witty, acerbic and very, very perceptive' Ann Cleeves

'A splendid heroine' Ann Granger

'An engagingly forthright and indefatigable investigator' Irish Times

'Frances Brody matches a heroine of free and independent spirit with a vivid evocation of time and place . . . a novel to cherish' Barry Turner,Daily Mail

'The series is right up there with Miss Marple'Sunday Sport

'Delightful' People's Friend

'Kate Shackleton joins Jacqueline Winspear's Maisie Dobbs in a subgroup of young, female amateur detectives who survived and were matured by their wartime experiences' Literary Review

'Brody's excellent mystery splendidly captures the conflicts and attitudes of the time with well-developed characters' RT Book Reviews

'In Yorkshire we are proud to have such a first-rate crime novelist in our county' Yorkshire Gazette & Herald

Information

Other Formats

Information

Also by Frances Brody  |  View all

Also in the Brackerley Prison Mysteries series