logo
Supporting your high street Find out how »
Basket Image

Basket

Ambush, Paperback / softback Book

Description

'A BLOODY PAGE-TURNER' Mail on SundayFor fans of Bernard Cornwell, Simon Scarrow, Ben Kane and Conn Iggulden, a spectacular debut where honour and duty, legions and tribes clash in bloody, heart-breaking glory . . . ____________AD 9. Fifteen thousand battle-hardened Roman legionaries strike deep into dense forest.

Awaiting them are deadly, hostile Germanic tribes. In a clearing they find twelve massacred and strung-up legionaries. Is this a threat, or a warning?There is just one bloodied, broken survivor.

He has no idea who he is. Only that he is a soldier. And now he must fight. As the legions are mercilessly cut down, the nameless soldier joins a small band of survivors trapped in the forest.

If they fight together they have a slim chance of staying alive.

But whose side is the soldier on? And is it the right one?_____________'Blood and guts, but also a clever exploration of the moral ambiguity of war and loyalty to a flag' Mail on Sunday'Gives Rome's legionaries a contemporary voice - brutal, audacious and fast paced' Anthony Riches, author of the Empire series'Historical fiction written by a real war veteran who knows all there is to know about blood and bonding in battle.

An earthy and powerful read' SportPREVIOUSLY PUBLISHED UNDER THE TITLE BLOOD FOREST

Information

  • Format: Paperback / softback
  • Pages: 400 pages
  • Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd
  • Publication Date:
  • Category: Historical adventure
  • ISBN: 9781405943857

Other Formats

Save 22%

£7.99

£6.19

 
Free Home Delivery

on all orders

 
Pick up orders

from local bookshops

Also by GERAINT JONES   |  View all