Please note: In order to keep Hive up to date and provide users with the best features, we are no longer able to fully support Internet Explorer. The site is still available to you, however some sections of the site may appear broken. We would encourage you to move to a more modern browser like Firefox, Edge or Chrome in order to experience the site fully.

Listening to the Quiet : A gripping saga of love and secrets in a Cornish village, Paperback / softback Book

Listening to the Quiet : A gripping saga of love and secrets in a Cornish village Paperback / softback

Paperback / softback

Description

When new passions rise to the surface, old secrets threaten to ruin everything...Jo Venner returns to the Cornish tin-mining village to where she grew up to take up the post of schoolmistress filled with memories of the happy days she spent there as a child.

Despite being rejected by her mother, she is determined to build a life in Parmath. She soon falls in love with Luke Vigus who stirs up feelings she has never known before.

But Luke is burdened with the responsibility of an alcoholic mother and his three young half-siblings - and their relationship can never be accepted by the villagers.

Meanwhile Marcus Lidgey, the schoolmaster, is drawn to Jo.

Yet he too harbours a dark past and is gradually, dreadfully, losing his mind... An emotional saga of love and community set in Cornwall, perfect for fans of Anna Jacobs and Margaret Dickinson

Information

Other Formats

£8.99

£7.19

 
Free Home Delivery

on all orders

 
Pick up orders

from local bookshops

Information

Also by Gloria Cook  |  View all