The Collected Stories of Grace Paley, Paperback Book

The Collected Stories of Grace Paley Paperback

Part of the Virago Modern Classics series

5 out of 5 (1 rating)


Here are all Grace Paley's classic stories in one volume. From her first book THE LITTLE DISTURBANCES OF MAN (1959), to ENORMOUS CHANGES AT THE LAST MINUTE (1974) and LATER THE SAME DAY (1985), Grace Paley's quirky, boisterous characters and rich use of language have won her readers' hearts and secured her place as one of America's most accomplished short story writers. Her stories are united by her signature interweaving of personal and political truths, her extraordinary capacity for empathy and her pointed depiction of the small and large events that make up daily life.


Other Formats



Free Home Delivery

on all orders

Pick up orders

from local bookshops


Showing 1 - 1 of 1 reviews.

Review by

No one can excel the power of Paley in her short stories for capturing vivid portraits of very different individuals at all stages in their lives. I am in awe of her. What a remarkable writer. Everyone should read these stories. Everyone should read at least one Paley story in high school. Hemingway, Fitzgerald -- sure. But Paley outshines them in that her stories have something that few of the canonical men do -- hope.

Also in the Virago Modern Classics series   |  View all