The Happiness Project : Or, Why I Spent a Year Trying to Sing in the Morning, Clean My Closets, Fight Right, Read Aristotle, and Generally Have More Fun, Hardback Book

The Happiness Project : Or, Why I Spent a Year Trying to Sing in the Morning, Clean My Closets, Fight Right, Read Aristotle, and Generally Have More Fun Hardback

3.5 out of 5 (42 ratings)

Description

"This book made me happy in the first five pages." -AJ Jacobs, author of The Year of Living Biblically: One Man's Humble Quest to Follow the Bible as Literally as Possible Award-winning author Gretchen Rubin is back with a bang, with The Happiness Project.

The author of the bestselling 40 Ways to Look at Winston Churchill has produced a work that is "a cross between the Dalai Lama's The Art of Happiness and Elizabeth Gilbert's Eat, Pray, Love." (Sonya Lyubomirsky, author of The How of Happiness: A Scientific Approach to Getting the Life You Want) In the vein of Julie and Julia, The Happiness Project describes one person's year-long attempt to discover what leads to true contentment.

Drawing at once on cutting-edge science, classical philosophy, and real-world applicability, Rubin has written an engaging, eminently relatable chronicle of transformation.

Information

  • Format: Hardback
  • Pages: 320 pages
  • Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers Inc
  • Publication Date:
  • Category: Self-help & personal development
  • ISBN: 9780061583254

Other Formats

£16.99

£12.95

 
Free Home Delivery

on all orders

 
Pick up orders

from local bookshops

Reviews

Showing 1 - 5 of 42 reviews.

  Previous  |  Next

Review by
4

What better book for me to read today, the first day of a new year, a new decade?I’ve been waiting and waiting for this book to be published. I first heard about it when I kept getting snippets in the wonderful Google e-mail I receive every day about items of interest about happiness. I love happiness. I’m fascinated with happiness. I suppose you could say that just thinking about happiness makes me happy. So I couldn’t wait to read this book.It was not a disappointment. I’ve been reading the author’s blog about the project on an almost daily basis, so the book felt, well, a little short. But that is okay. It was a good book. It gives readers lots of lovely ideas about how to be happier. Even if you just try one idea and it works for you, I’d say that would be worth the price of the book.I resolve to use these ideas and try them myself. I’m going to read through the book one more time and this time I’ll write down a few notes.

Review by
5

I loved this book! If I were any less lazy I would totally start my own Happiness Project! This book was such a joy to read -- I loved Rubin's writing style, her EXTENSIVE research on each and every thing happiness-related, her tips and her honesty while writing this. She wasn't perfect. Which makes me like her even more.Reading this book made me hopeful and optimistic -- I think anyone who's feeling stuck or blah or blue would benefit from reading this. Just reading it helped me live vicariously and get through the last bit of winter in Chicago. It was definitely a bright spot in my day. It made me happy!

Review by
5

Enjoyed the book and the author. She shared some good ideas and some quotes that I liked. I could picture myself doing some of these projects and wished that I had.

Review by
4

Author embarks on a year of finding herself and trying to find some measure of happiness in that year. Part of the journey is in trying to discover what happiness means to her, originally blogged this book was quite useful in making me think about my life and living it as me not as someone else thinks how I should live.I think it's a book that I will think about a lot again. I'm not sure about how universal her experiences were but I do agree with a few of them, like how there is an I in happiness; that you sometimes have to invest in your own happiness, and that sometimes that means paying for it.It's a theme I may have to bring into my own life and work on over time. It's all about creating SMART (Specific, Measurable, Attainable, Relevant and Time-Bound) goals. By breaking down her goal to become happier in her life into smaller pieces and working on those small things every month for a year she changes her life. The one quote she missed was that of Socrates (quoted by Plato) "the unexamined life is not worth living" and this is what she's doing here, examining her life.

Review by
3

Nonfiction author Gretchen Rubin deconstructs happiness? Examines happiness? Researches happiness? ah...explains the fundamentals of happiness based on a review of literature and personal research /experimentation. sigh. smile. happiness? no not quite.I confess, I was hoping for more from Rubin. Her subtitle could well have been: The Triumph of Conventional Wisdom. or Common Sense. or Stuff Your Mother Keeps Saying. In all seriousness, my major criticism of the book is that it's superficial. It's so 'Gretchen' centered. As it progressed it seemed to become more about Gretchen's life and less about the nature of happiness.Perhaps happiness is like humor, better experienced than dissected.

  Previous  |  Next