Please note: In order to keep Hive up to date and provide users with the best features, we are no longer able to fully support Internet Explorer. The site is still available to you, however some sections of the site may appear broken. We would encourage you to move to a more modern browser like Firefox, Edge or Chrome in order to experience the site fully.

Heatstroke : a dark, compulsive story of love and obsession, Hardback Book

Heatstroke : a dark, compulsive story of love and obsession Hardback

Hardback

Description

'Barkworth is excruciatingly good... An impressive first book' OBSERVERA COSMOPOLITAN BEST BOOKS OF SUMMER 2020 pick HEAT magazine's READ OF THE WEEK - 'the evocative one''I wanted to stay within its pages forever' CLARE MACKINTOSH---This summer burns with secrets... It is too hot to sleep. To work. To be questioned time and again by the police. At the beginning of a stifling, sultry summer, everything shifts irrevocably when Lily doesn't come home one afternoon. Rachel is Lily's teacher. Her daughter Mia is Lily's best friend. The girls are fifteen - almost women, still children.

As Rachel becomes increasingly fixated on Lily's absence, she finds herself breaking fragile trusts and confronting impossible choices she never thought she'd face.

It wasn't supposed to happen like this. Intoxicating and compulsive, Heatstroke is a darkly gripping, thought-provoking novel of crossed boundaries, power and betrayal, that plays with expectations at every turn. FOR FANS OF ZOE HELLER, EMMA CLINE, EXPECTATION AND MY DARK VANESSA. ---'Stylish and sensual' KIRAN MILLWOOD HARGRAVE'A summer sizzler... with twists, turns and revelations in all the right places' EVENING STANDARD'What to read next IF YOU LOVED THREE WOMEN by Lisa Taddeo' WHISTLES newsletter'A thrilling look at mothers and daughters, adolescence, sex, suburbia and secrets' NELL FRIZZELL'Sexy, sensual, difficult, provocative...definitely one of the best reads of the summer' LAURA JANE WILLIAMS'Pulls you into its sweaty interior and keeps you gripped' RENEE KNIGHT'I couldn't tear myself away' ERIN KELLY'I am addicted!...

A gripping, dark and twisty read with beautiful, poetic writing' EMMA GANNON'Compulsive, sticky and full of gorgeous writing' KIRSTIN INNES'A scorching tale of obsession, betrayal and the wounds that mothers and daughters inflict on each other' TAMMY COHEN

Information

Other Formats

£16.99

£13.29

 
Free Home Delivery

on all orders

 
Pick up orders

from local bookshops

Information

Also by Hazel Barkworth