Please note: In order to keep Hive up to date and provide users with the best features, we are no longer able to fully support Internet Explorer. The site is still available to you, however some sections of the site may appear broken. We would encourage you to move to a more modern browser like Firefox, Edge or Chrome in order to experience the site fully.

The Distant Dead : A Novel, EPUB eBook

The Distant Dead : A Novel EPUB

EPUB

Please note: eBooks can only be purchased with a UK issued credit card and all our eBooks (ePub and PDF) are DRM protected.

Description

A People magazine Best Book of Summer? A ParadeBest Book of Summer

A Crime Reads Most Anticipated Book of Summer

[A] second stunning piece of redemptive fiction An ideal recommendation for fans of Kate Atkinson and Jodi Picoult. Booklist, Starred Review


A body burns in the high desert hills. A boy walks into a fire station, pale with the shock of a grisly discovery. A middle school teacher worries when her colleague is late for work. By days end, when the body is identified as local math teacher Adam Merkel, a small Nevada town will be rocked to its core by a brutal and calculated murder.

Adam Merkel left a university professorship in Reno to teach middle school in Lovelock seven months before he died. A quiet, seemingly unremarkable man, he connected with just one of his students: Sal Prentiss, a lonely sixth grader who lives with his uncles on a desolate ranch in the hills. The two outcasts developed a tender, trusting friendship that brought each of them hope in the wake of tragedy. But it is Sal who finds Adams body, charred almost beyond recognition, half a mile from his uncles compound.

Nora Wheaton, the middle schools social studies teacher, dreamed of a life far from Lovelock only to be dragged back on the eve of her college graduation to care for her disabled father, a man she loves but cant forgive. She sensed in the new math teacher a kindred spirit--another soul bound to Lovelock by guilt and duty. After Adams death, she delves into his past for clues to who killed him and finds a dark history she understands all too well. But the truth about his murder may lie closer to home. For Sal Prentisss grief seems heavily shaded with fear, and Nora suspects he knows more than hes telling about how his favorite teacher died. As she tries to earn the wary boys trust, she finds he holds not only the key to Adams murder, but an unexpected chance at the life she thought shed lost.

Weaving together the last months of Adams life, Noras search for answers, and a young boys anguished moral reckoning, this unforgettable thriller brings a small American town to vivid life, filled with complex, flawed characters wrestling with the weight of the past, the promise of the future, and the bitter freedom that forgiveness can bring.


Information

Other Formats

Information

Also by Heather Young  |  View all