Supporting your high street Find out how »
Basket Image


Mourning Ruby, Paperback / softback Book


**FROM THE AUTHOR OF INSIDE THE WAVE, THE COSTA BOOK OF THE YEAR 2017**Rebecca was abandoned by her mother in a shoebox in the backyard of an Italian restaurant when she was two days old.

Her life begins without history, in the dark outdoors.

Who is she, where has she come from and what can she become?

Thirty years later, married to Adam, she gives birth to Ruby, and to a new life for herself.

But when sudden tragedy changed the course of that life for ever, and all the lives that touch hers, Rebecca is out in the world again, searching . . . Mourning Ruby explores identity and maternal ties and is bestselling author Helen Dunmore's eighth novel. 'Moments that bring the reader to tears . . . a fascinating - often brilliant - novel' The Times'Bold and unusual . . . miraculously written, Dunmore's drama of loss and regeneration pieces together shattered lives' Daily Mail'Emotionally restrained, beautifully observed' Daily TelegraphHelen Dunmore has published eleven novels with Penguin: Zennor in Darkness , which won the McKitterick Prize; Burning Bright; A Spell of Winter, which won the Orange Prize; Talking to the Dead ; Your Blue-Eyed Boy; With Your Crooked Heart; The Siege, which was shortlisted for the 2001 Whitbread Novel of the Year Award and for the Orange Prize for Fiction 2002; Mourning Ruby; House of Orphan; Counting the Stars and The Betrayal, which was longlisted for the Man Booker Prize 2010.

She is also a poet, children's novelist and short-story writer.


Other Formats



Free Home Delivery

on all orders

Pick up orders

from local bookshops

Also by Helen Dunmore   |  View all