The Abel Prize 2008-2012, Hardback Book

The Abel Prize 2008-2012 Hardback

Edited by Helge Holden, Ragni Piene

Part of the The Abel Prize series


Covering the years 2008-2012, this book profiles the life and work of recent winners of the Abel Prize: * John G.

Thompson and Jacques Tits, 2008* Mikhail Gromov, 2009* John T.

Tate Jr., 2010* John W. Milnor, 2011* Endre Szemeredi, 2012. The profiles feature autobiographical information as well as a description of each mathematician's work.

In addition, each profile contains a complete bibliography, a curriculum vitae, as well as photos - old and new.

As an added feature, interviews with the Laureates are presented on an accompanying web site ( The book also presents a history of the Abel Prize written by the historian Kim Helsvig, and includes a facsimile of a letter from Niels Henrik Abel, which is transcribed, translated into English, and placed into historical perspective by Christian Skau. This book follows on The Abel Prize: 2003-2007, The First Five Years (Springer, 2010), which profiles the work of the first Abel Prize winners.


  • Format: Hardback
  • Pages: 571 pages, 43 Illustrations, color; 29 Illustrations, black and white; XVII, 571 p. 72 illus., 43 il
  • Publisher: Springer-Verlag Berlin and Heidelberg GmbH & Co. K
  • Publication Date:
  • Category: Mathematics
  • ISBN: 9783642394485



Free Home Delivery

on all orders

Pick up orders

from local bookshops

Also in the The Abel Prize series