Supporting your high street Find out how »
Basket Image


Chartist Fiction : Volume Two, Paperback / softback Book

Chartist Fiction : Volume Two Paperback / softback

Edited by Ian Haywood

Part of the Routledge Library Editions: The Victorian World series


First published in 2001. When the Chartist leader Ernest Jones emerged from prison in 1850, he was determined to capture the public's attention with a controversial and topical novel.

The result of his endeavours was the remarkable Woman's Wrongs, a series of five tales exploring women's oppression at every level of society from the working class to the aristocracy.

Each story presents a graphic, often harrowing account of the social, economic and emotional victimization of women, and taken together the tales comprise a devastating indictment of Victorian patriarchal attitudes and sexual inequalities.

In his substantial Introduction, Ian Haywood places the novel in the context of Jones's career as a Chartist author and editor, and in the wider context of the `woman question'.

Some of the topics covered by the Introduction include: the radical press and popular enlightenment, Jones's rivalry with George W.

M. Reynolds, and the needlewoman as radical icon. This title will be of interest to students of history.


  • Format: Paperback / softback
  • Pages: 178 pages
  • Publisher: Taylor & Francis Ltd
  • Publication Date:
  • Category: Anthologies (non-poetry)
  • ISBN: 9781138644656



Free Home Delivery

on all orders

Pick up orders

from local bookshops

Also in the Routledge Library Editions: The Victorian World series   |  View all