Ireland - A Celebration of History, Verse and Children's Stories, DVD  DVD

Ireland - A Celebration of History, Verse and Children's Stories DVD


Triple bill of programmes about Irish history, poetry and folklore. 'A Short History of Ireland' features authentic dramatisations, emotive music and in-depth commentary to help build up this introduction to the Emerald Isle.

It traces the history of the country from medieval times through the Williamite Wars to the Easter Rising and the coming of Michael Collins. 'Irish Verse to Landscape' contains a selection of popular Irish poetry set to scenes of the island, accompanied by specially composed ambient music. 'Irish Legends for Children' includes 12 stories from Irish folklore, drawn in the main from two particular Celtic periods - An Ruraiocht (The Red Branch Knights Cycle) and An Fhiannaiocht (The Fianna Cycle).

The stories are: 'The Children of Lir', 'Deirdre of the Sorrows', 'Setanta', 'The Salmon of Knowledge', 'Fionn and the Dragon', 'Oision in Tir-n-Og', 'The King With Donkey's Ears', 'The Brown Bull of Cooley', 'The Giant of Scotland', 'Eisirt', 'The Beggarman' and 'Oisin'.


  • Format: DVD
  • Region: 2
  • Certification: (Ex)
  • EAN: 5016641118580
  • Catalogue number: IMC858D
  • Studio: IMC Vision
  • Release date:
  • Genre: Documentaries & Biographies
  • Colour: Colour


Free Home Delivery

on all orders

Pick up orders

from local bookshops