Please note: In order to keep Hive up to date and provide users with the best features, we are no longer able to fully support Internet Explorer. The site is still available to you, however some sections of the site may appear broken. We would encourage you to move to a more modern browser like Firefox, Edge or Chrome in order to experience the site fully.

The Unstoppable Letty Pegg, Paperback / softback Book

The Unstoppable Letty Pegg Paperback / softback

Part of the Flashbacks series

Paperback / softback

Description

'Thoroughly recommended' BOOKS FOR KEEPS'A superb read' THE READING REALMBrilliant debut historical adventure from writer and comedian Iszi Lawrence, perfect for fans of Emma Carroll, The Princess and the Suffragette, and Opal Plumstead.

The story of the suffragettes with the Jiu Jitsu and roller skating left in... this impeccably researched debut novel from Iszi Lawrence shows the fight for women's suffrage as it really was.

Lettice Pegg's father is a working-class policeman and her mother is a middle-class suffragette.

Stuck between them (and her terrifying grandma) as they argue, Lettice mostly cares about trying to fit in at school and convincing her parents to let her have roller skates and go to the music hall.

But, when Lettice sees her mother brutally thrown to the ground by a policeman while on a protest march, her life changes forever.

Not all of the women on the march are vulnerable to attack.

Some of them have a secret weapon: Jiu Jitsu. As the suffragettes welcome Lettice to the fight back, things at home go from bad to worse.

Can Lettice bring her family back together and keep her new friends?

Information

£6.99

 
Free Home Delivery

on all orders

 
Pick up orders

from local bookshops

Information