Supporting your high street Find out how »
How Are You Going To Save Yourself, Paperback / softback Book

How Are You Going To Save Yourself Paperback / softback

Paperback / softback

Description

'Spare in style, strikingly urgent, his is a voice to get excited about.' Guardian 'A powerful rendering of contemporary masculinity in America.' TLS'A blistering debut . . . Hilarious and compelling.' Independent Both humorous and heart-breaking, How Are You Going To Save Yourself is a timely debut about sex, race, family and friendship for fans of Junot Diaz and Ta-Nehisi Coates.

It explores the lives of four friends from the city of Pawtucket: Rydell, Lazarus, Rakim, and Giovanni, or more affectionately Rye, Dub, Rolls, and G.

Once bound together by location and shared experience, their bonds fade and change as their adult lives begin to take different shapes.

They are confronted with society's expectations of them, family pressures, and ultimately the way they see themselves - sometimes conforming, sometimes challenging the stereotypes.

Ultimately they are trying not to fail themselves and the people they love.

Information

Other Formats

£14.99

£11.25

 
Free Home Delivery

on all orders

 
Pick up orders

from local bookshops

Also by J M Holmes