logo
Supporting your high street Find out how »
Basket Image

Basket

How Are You Going To Save Yourself, Paperback / softback Book

How Are You Going To Save Yourself Paperback / softback

Description

'A powerful rendering of contemporary masculinity in America.' TLS'A blistering debut . . . Hilarious and compelling, Holmes offers up a mirror to contemporary society . . . a compassionate and powerful exploration of how race, friendship and sex intersect and the real-world consequences of stereotypes.' - Independent Summer ReadsBoth humorous and heart-breaking, How Are You Going To Save Yourself is a timely debut about sex, race, family and friendship for fans of Junot Diaz and Ta-Nehisi Coates.

It explores the lives of four friends from the city of Pawtucket: Rydell, Lazarus, Rakim, and Giovanni, or more affectionately Rye, Dub, Rolls, and G.

Once bound together by location and shared experience, their bonds fade and change as their adult lives begin to take different shapes.

They are confronted with society's expectations of them, family pressures, and ultimately the way they see themselves - sometimes conforming, sometimes challenging the stereotypes.

Ultimately they are trying not to fail themselves and the people they love.

Information

Other Formats

£8.99

£7.89

 
Free Home Delivery

on all orders

 
Pick up orders

from local bookshops