A Cavern of Black Ice, Paperback Book
3.5 out of 5 (2 ratings)


When Raif and Drey Sevrance return home to their clan as the only survivors of a vicious attack in which both their father and the clan chief, were killed, everything changes for Raif.

Uneasy with the new chief's reign of brutality and his brother's acceptance of it, Raif welcomes his uncle Angus Lok's invitation to accompany him to Spire Vanis.

Asarhiah March, Ash for short, is the beautiful ward of Penthero Iss, Overlord of Spire Vanis.

Suspicious of Penthero's increasing interest in her developing body, when Ash overhears him planning to imprison her she flees, only to be cornered at the city gate by a band of the Overlord's elite guards.

But as they close in on her, a stranger comes to the rescue - observed by a bemused Raif, Angus Lok plunges into the midst of the guards and snatches her to safety.

For Angus knows that as this girl grows to womanhood she will develop powers which could destroy herself and the world if she doesn't learn to control them ...and only Raif can protect her on her journey to understanding.


  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 816 pages, map
  • Publisher: Little, Brown Book Group
  • Publication Date:
  • Category: Fantasy
  • ISBN: 9781857237436

Other Formats



Free Home Delivery

on all orders

Pick up orders

from local bookshops


Showing 1 - 2 of 2 reviews.

Review by

This is a quite good book, which seems to be the start of a trilogy although so far only one more book has been published. It is different enough from the more standard fare of fantasy that it is interesting.

Review by

There's a good tale hidden in this work but it could have lost a good third of the book and still been there. The narrative was so glacially paced that I ended up skimming about a third of the way in just to see what happened in the end. And then of course it was a cliffhanger, since it's part one of a trilogy. Not compelling enough for me to try parts 2 & 3.

Also by J. V. Jones   |  View all

Also in the The Sword of Shadows series