Commandments, Paperback / softback Book

Commandments Paperback / softback


"Commandments", Jackie Wills' fourth collection, is arguably her strongest to date.

Here are poems of love and disenchantment, poems about landscapes, both familiar and unfamiliar, poems in which the poet, with her acute powers of observation, looks at the 'ordinary' and redraws it in an extraordinary, even a disturbing, way. "Commandments" is divided into two distinct parts. The first part has two main points of focus: one is the Ten Commandments, each of which Jackie Wills re-states with such sensitivity and understanding that the impact is sometimes overwhelming; the other is the poet herself in poems which look inward but which have a universal relevance.

The 'commandment' poems and what the poet refers to as the 'me' poems interweave in this first section to extraordinary effect.

By contrast, the second part of the book consists of a cycle of landscape poems, largely about Wills' home territory, Brighton and its environs.


  • Format: Paperback / softback
  • Pages: 84 pages
  • Publisher: Arc Publications
  • Publication Date:
  • Category: Poetry by individual poets
  • ISBN: 9781904614005



Free Home Delivery

on all orders

Pick up orders

from local bookshops

Also by Jackie Wills