American Critical Archives : Eugene O'Neill: The Contemporary Reviews, Hardback Book

American Critical Archives : Eugene O'Neill: The Contemporary Reviews Hardback

Edited by Jackson R. Bryer, Robert M. Dowling


This book brings together a generous selection of the contemporary reviews of Eugene O'Neill's plays, from his debut productions by the Provincetown Players and the Washington Square Players in 1916 and 1917, to his great Broadway successes of the 1920s and 1930s, through his 1946 return to Broadway.

It includes reviews of his four Pulitzer Prize winners - Beyond the Horizon, Anna Christie, Strange Interlude, and Long Day's Journey Into Night - as well as The Iceman Cometh, A Touch of the Poet, Hughie, and More Stately Mansions.

The reviews are reprinted in their entirety, with only plot summaries deleted.

Taken as a whole, they document the contemporary reception of the only American playwright to receive the Nobel Prize for Literature and the dramatist responsible for making the American play a serious art form.


  • Format: Hardback
  • Pages: 1027 pages
  • Publisher: Cambridge University Press
  • Publication Date:
  • Category: Literary studies: from c 1900 -
  • ISBN: 9780521382649



Free Home Delivery

on all orders

Pick up orders

from local bookshops