Raptor : A Journey Through Birds, Paperback / softback Book

Raptor : A Journey Through Birds Paperback / softback

Description

Winner of The Royal Society of Literature Jerwood Award for Non-Fiction in 2011 and the Authors' Foundation Roger Deakin Award in 2011A stunning debut in the tradition of Robert Macfarlane and Helen MacdonaldOf all the birds of the British Isles, the raptor reigns supreme, sparking the imagination like no other.

In this magnificent hymn to these beautiful animals, James Macdonald Lockhart explores all fifteen breeding birds of prey on these shores - from the hen harrier swimming over the land in the dregs of a May gale on Orkney, to the ghostly sparrowhawk displaying in the fields around his home in Warwickshire.

This is a book that will change how we think of our own skies.

Information

  • Format: Paperback / softback
  • Pages: 384 pages
  • Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
  • Publication Date:
  • Category: Wildlife: birds & birdwatching
  • ISBN: 9780007459896

Other Formats

£9.99

£8.99

 
Free Home Delivery

on all orders

 
Pick up orders

from local bookshops

Also by James Macdonald Lockhart   |  View all