The Meritocracy Quartet, Paperback / softback Book

The Meritocracy Quartet Paperback / softback


Jeffrey Lewis is an American author whose most influential and wildly popular writing went unread by his many devoted fans and supporters.

Instead, they watched Hill Street Blues in their millions, the revolutionary series that introduced an unprecedented realism to American television. Lewis's name appeared in its writing credits more than eighty times.

Following the show's conclusion, Lewis withdrew to write novels.

Suddenly, his rich and complex relationship with American culture, upon which his writing has drawn as deeply as it has influenced the contemporary land- scape of American narrative, required a new kind of telling.

In an ambitious departure, Lewis conceived a four- novel series, each of which would follow the leaders of American culture through a decade of their lives, thereby tracing the very substance of America's contemporary history through its unfolding.

The series, now for the first time available in one volume and as an ebook, is a sweeping meditation on his generation, and where it has led America, from the sixties to the turn of the century.'Lewis is a master.' - Washington Post


  • Format: Paperback / softback
  • Pages: 747 pages
  • Publisher: Haus Publishing
  • Publication Date:
  • Category: Historical fiction
  • ISBN: 9781907822049

Other Formats



Free Home Delivery

on all orders

Pick up orders

from local bookshops

Also by Jeffrey Lewis   |  View all