Please note: In order to keep Hive up to date and provide users with the best features, we are no longer able to fully support Internet Explorer. The site is still available to you, however some sections of the site may appear broken. We would encourage you to move to a more modern browser like Firefox, Edge or Chrome in order to experience the site fully.

Muffled, EPUB eBook

Muffled EPUB

EPUB

Please note: eBooks can only be purchased with a UK issued credit card and all our eBooks (ePub and PDF) are DRM protected.

Description

A young girl learns how to cope with her noise sensitivity and step outside of her comfort zone in this ';thoughtful' (Beth Turley, author of If This Were a Story and The Last Tree Town), heartwarming middle grade novel that's perfect for fans of Tune It Out by Jamie Sumner and El Deafo by Cece Bell.

Ten-year-old Amelia does not like noise. From subway brakes to squeaky sneakers, she is sensitive to sound, just like her dad. Amelia has always worn noise-canceling headphones, but now that she's going into fifth grade, her parents want her to stop wearing them. To make matters worse, she must learn to play an instrument! Or, as Amelia sees it, make noise on purpose.

To help Amelia cope, her father gives her a pair of earmuffs to wear instead. Even with her new earmuffs, Amelia struggles at schooluntil she gets partnered with Madge in music class. Madge is loud and bold and goofyeverything Amelia is not. And so Amelia is surprised when Madge wants to be friends.

Still, it's not long though before Amelia's quiet nature clashes with Madge's loud personality. And when Madge disappears after an argument, Amelia fears Madge might be in trouble. If she's going to help her friend, she will have to find a way to let in the noisy world she's muffled for so long.

Information

Other Formats

Information

Also by Jennifer Gennari

£6.99

£6.75