Beneath a Burning Sky : A Gripping Mystery and a Beautiful Love Story That Ticks All the Boxes, Paperback Book

Beneath a Burning Sky : A Gripping Mystery and a Beautiful Love Story That Ticks All the Boxes Paperback

Description

***A 2017 KINDLE BETSELLER***'Beautifully described . . . A moving love story' Tracy Rees'Exotic and mysterious - I was gripped by this complex tale' Dinah JefferiesThe beautiful and gripping story of love, betrayal and mystery, set against the heat and intrigue of colonial Alexandria.

Perfect for fans of Kate Furnivall, Dinah Jefferies and Victoria Hislop.******Central Alexandria, June 1891When twenty-two-year-old Olivia is coerced into marriage by the cruel Alistair Sheldon she leaves England for Egypt, his home and the land of her own childhood.

Reluctant as she is to go with Alistair, it's in her new home that she finds happiness in surprising places: she is reunited with her long-estranged sister, Clara, and falls - impossibly and illicitly - in love with her husband's boarder, Captain Edward Bertram.Then Clara is abducted from one of the busiest streets in the city.

Olivia is told it's thieves after ransom money, but she's convinced there's more to it.

As she sets out to discover what's happened to the sister she's only just begun to know, she falls deeper into the shadowy underworld of Alexandria, putting her own life, and her chance at a future with Edward, the only man she's ever loved, at risk. Because, determined as Olivia is to find Clara, there are others who will stop at nothing to conceal what's become of her . . .Beneath a Burning Sky is a novel of secrets, betrayal and, above all else, love.

Set against the heat and intrigue of colonial Alexandria, this beautiful and heart-wrenching story will take your breath away.Further praise for Jenny Ashcroft:'A summer must-read' Red'This story of twists and turns transcends era and genre.

Absolutely brilliant' Kerry Fisher'First-class writing, brilliant characters, fascinating locations and gripping plots' Tracy Buchanan'Exquisitely written . . . unputdownable and unforgettable' Iona Grey

Information

  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 432 pages
  • Publisher: Little, Brown Book Group
  • Publication Date:
  • Category: Historical romance
  • ISBN: 9780751565034

Other Formats

£7.99

£7.25

 
Free Home Delivery

on all orders

 
Pick up orders

from local bookshops

Also by Jenny Ashcroft