logo
Supporting your high street Find out how »
Basket Image

Basket

Island in the East : Escape This Summer With This Perfect Beach Read, Paperback / softback Book

Island in the East : Escape This Summer With This Perfect Beach Read Paperback / softback

Description

'Exotic and mysterious - I was gripped' Dinah Jefferies'Island in the East is a stunner' Kate Furnivall 'Evocative, absorbing. . . A rich and satisfying read' Gill Paul 'A moving, stirring love story, and so richly atmospheric' Rachel Rhys ************** Two great loves.

One shattering betrayal. A war that changes everything Singapore, 1897 Harriet and Mae Grafton are twenty-year-old identical twins born from a scandalous affair.

They grew up in India slighted by gossip and ostracised from polite society.

They had each other and that was enough. But when their wealthy benefactor sends them to Singapore, they meet the mysterious Alex Blake and their relationship fractures with devastating consequences. 1941 Ivy Harcourt is posted to wartime Singapore amid the looming threat of Japanese invasion.

Ivy knows the island will be a far cry from war-torn London, but she is totally unprepared for what awaits her: strangers from her grandmother Mae's past, an unstoppable love affair and a shattering secret that's been waiting to be uncovered . . . Vivid, authentic and utterly beautiful - with a sizzling love affair playing out against sisterly rivalry and epic family drama - Island in the East is romantic historical fiction at its very best. Perfect read for fans of Victoria Hislop, Dinah Jefferies and Tracy Rees. More praise for Jenny Ashcroft: 'Beautifully described . . . A moving love story' Tracy Rees 'It's impossible to put this book down.' Kate Riordan 'A great read.' Judith Lennox 'A summer must-read' Red 'Love, sisterly rivalry and betrayal are themes in this epic tale' My Weekly 'Brilliant; everything romantic historical fiction should be.' Nicola Cornick 'Absolutely brilliant' Kerry Fisher 'Completely entrancing . . . Perfect escapism, beautifully written.' Emma Rous 'Evocative, lush and beautifully written, Island in the East is a gripping read.' Nikola Scott 'First-class writing, brilliant characters, fascinating locations and gripping plots' Tracy Buchanan 'Exquisitely written . . . unputdownable and unforgettable' Iona Grey 'A wonderful novel, full of mystery that kept me gripped until the end' Rachel Burton

Information

  • Format: Paperback / softback
  • Pages: 416 pages
  • Publisher: Little, Brown Book Group
  • Publication Date:
  • Category: Historical romance
  • ISBN: 9780751565065

Other Formats

£13.99

£11.29

We're closed for now, but hopefully not for long…

You can still add items to your basket and wishlist but you won't be able to checkout.

Also by Jenny Ashcroft   |  View all