The Women of the Castle : the moving New York Times bestseller for readers of ALL THE LIGHT WE CANNOT SEE, Paperback / softback Book

The Women of the Castle : the moving New York Times bestseller for readers of ALL THE LIGHT WE CANNOT SEE Paperback / softback

Description

THE NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLERIn war they made impossible choices. Now can they live with them?'Moving . . . surprises and devastates' New York Times'Masterful' People'Mesmerising . . . reveals new truths about one of history's most tragic eras' USA TodayThe Third Reich has crumbled. The Russians are coming. Marianne von Lingenfels - widow of a resister murdered by the Nazi regime - finds refuge in the crumbling Bavarian castle where she once played host to German high society. There she fulfils her promise to find and protect the wives and children of her husband's brave conspirators, rescuing her dearest friend's widow, Benita, from sexual slavery to the Russian army, and Ania from a work camp for political prisoners. As Marianne assembles this makeshift family she is certain their shared pain will bind them together. But as Benita begins a clandestine relationship and Ania struggles to conceal her role in the Nazi regime, Marianne learns that her clear-cut, highly principled world view has no place in these new, frightening and emotionally-charged days. All three women must grapple with the realities they now face, and the consequences of decisions each made in the darkest of times . . . Deeply moving and compelling, The Women of the Castle is a heart-wrenching and hopeful novel of secrets and survival, a reckoning, and the astonishing power of forgiveness.

Perfect for fans of All the Light We Cannot See, The Reader and The Light Between Oceans.

Information

  • Format: Paperback / softback
  • Pages: 384 pages
  • Publisher: Zaffre Publishing
  • Publication Date:
  • Category: Political / legal thriller
  • ISBN: 9781785763625

Other Formats

£8.99

£7.49

 
Free Home Delivery

on all orders

 
Pick up orders

from local bookshops

Also by Jessica Shattuck