Please note: In order to keep Hive up to date and provide users with the best features, we are no longer able to fully support Internet Explorer. The site is still available to you, however some sections of the site may appear broken. We would encourage you to move to a more modern browser like Firefox, Edge or Chrome in order to experience the site fully.

The Ragged Valley : A page-turning and inspiring Sheffield saga, Paperback / softback Book

The Ragged Valley : A page-turning and inspiring Sheffield saga Paperback / softback

Part of the The Sheffield Sagas series

Paperback / softback

Description

From the wreckage, they must piece together new lives for themselves...Determined not to waste his life toiling for his cruel brother, Silas, the second son of a farmer, arrives in town to seek his fortune.

Harriet has reconciled herself to a life no better than domestic service for her austere uncle. And John Gunson, Chief Engineer at the Sheffield Waterworks Company, has just completed his crowning glory - the Dale Dyke dam. But one stormy night, the unthinkable happens. The dam bursts. A wall of water is unleashed, destroying everything in its path. The aftershocks of the flood reach far beyond that night, with consequences that could never have been foreseen.

Fatefully brought together, Silas and Harriet must now contend with their families as new love blooms.

Meanwhile, Gunson faces not only an angry community but also a court of inquest looking for a scapegoat. Can any good come from the disaster, and will justice be served for those who lost everything?A thrilling saga inspired by the real events of the Great Sheffield Flood, perfect for fans of Dilly Court, Emma Hornby and Elisabeth McNeill. Praise for The Ragged Valley'A powerful and absorbing story and an impressive debut.

Her passion for the era and area in which she writes shines through.

A 'dam' good read!' Emma Hornby'A fabulous debut by a new saga author!' AnneMarie Brear'Combines real people and fictional characters in a story both tragic and inspiring as Silas and Harriet overcome their brush with death.' Libby Ashworth'Terrific characters - from endearing to dastardly - and an exciting storyline kept me turning the pages, eager to find out what happened next.' Lesley Eames'The Ragged Valley delivers a captivating insight into a part of Sheffield history long forgotten.

Silas and Harriet's relationship is tender and at times thwarted.

An authentic story with motivating characters.' Sylvia Broady'A gorgeous debut from new saga author Joanne Clague!

Written with passion and attention to detail, Clague leaves no stone unturned, bringing to life the Great Sheffield Flood of 1864 and the people who lived through it.

Hard choices, starting over, and family are at the heart of this novel, and a must read for saga fans.' Andie Newton, USA Today bestselling author of The Girls from the Beach'This is a total five stars for me.

I'd never heard of the Sheffield flood before, but this novel brings it all to life.

End of the book had me in tears. This is historical fiction at its best.' Reader review'I adored this book.These characters are so real that when the unthinkable happens... it's truly gut-wrenching. The Ragged Valley is the start of something epic.' Reader review'It had me hooked from the first page.

The writing is gorgeous and the characters instantly come alive.

It's a wonderful romance with a lot of heart. A beautifully written book that I highly recommend for lovers of saga, romance or historical novels.' Reader review

Information

Other Formats

£8.99

£7.19

 
Free Home Delivery

on all orders

 
Pick up orders

from local bookshops

Information

Also by Joanne Clague

Also in the The Sheffield Sagas series