Shut Your Eyes Tight, Paperback Book
3.5 out of 5 (1 rating)

Description

John Verdon returns with Shut Your Eyes Tight, the second book by in the David Gurney series.Once a cop.

Always a cop . . .Ex-NYPD detective Dave Gurney is supposed to be retired.

But people with problems keep knocking on his door. Like the police, for instance, who are baffled by a gruesome murder they just can't seem to solve.A young bride has been killed in the middle of her own wedding reception.

The prime suspect - her new husband's Mexican gardener - is missing.

As is the murder weapon - likely a machete - used to decapitate the bride.The police have drawn a blank.

It's as if the killer has vanished into thin air. But when Gurney begins his investigations, he finds that a baffling murder is just the latest of many sadistic crimes committed by an individual who'll do anything to avoid capture.Following the success of Think of a Number, John Verdon's stunning follow-up novel, Shut Your Eyes Tight is just as scintillating.

Fans of Tess Gerritsen and James Hayman will love this series.

Praise for John Verdon:'The best thriller I've read in a long, long time' Tess Gerritsen'Wow!

Totally absorbing, brilliantly written. The best book I've read this year' The SunJohn Verdon, a former Manhattan advertising executive, lives with his wife on a small hilltop in upstate New York.

His first two Dave Gurney novels are Think of a Number and Shut Your Eyes Tight.

Information

  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 592 pages
  • Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd
  • Publication Date:
  • Category: Thriller / suspense
  • ISBN: 9780141048710

Other Formats

£8.99

£7.65

 
Free Home Delivery

on all orders

 
Pick up orders

from local bookshops

Reviews

Showing 1 - 1 of 1 reviews.

Review by
3.5

Both annoying and compelling at the same time. The pace is slow and there are too many longeurs. Although a lot of time is invested in the characters you still somehow feel distant from them. The plot is far-fetched and yet somehow it manages to keep you hooked to the end as it skates a dangerous precipice between an implausible, sensationalist thriller and an absorbing psychological drama. Not sure which description fits best.