Supporting your high street Find out how »
Basket Image


The Labour Governments 1964-1970 Volume 2 : International Policy, Paperback / softback Book

The Labour Governments 1964-1970 Volume 2 : International Policy Paperback / softback


This book is the second in the three volume set The Labour governments 1964-1970 and concentrates on Britain's international policy under the Labour governments in the 1960s and is available for the first time in paperback. The coverage ranges from defence policy and the government machine to European integration, NATO and the Vietnam war.

Harold Wilson and his ministers have often been accused of betraying the sense of promise that greeted their victory in 1964.

Using recently released archival evidence, John Young argues that a more balanced view of the government will recognise the real difficulties that surrounded decision-making, not only on Vietnam, but also on Aden, the Nigerian civil war and Rhodesia. Economic weakness, waning military strength, Cold War tensions and the need to placate allies all placed limits on what a once-great but now clearly declining power could achieve.

Furthermore the government proved of pivotal importance in the history of Britain's international role, in that it presided over a major shift from positions East of Suez to a focus on European concerns, a focus that has remained until the present day. The book will be of vital importance to students of British history and international relations during this exciting period.

Together with the other books in the series, on domestic policy and economic policy, it provides a complete picture of the development of Britain under the premiership of Harold Wilson. -- .




Free Home Delivery

on all orders

Pick up orders

from local bookshops