The Penguin History of Modern China : The Fall and Rise of a Great Power, 1850 to the Present, Second Edition, Paperback Book

The Penguin History of Modern China : The Fall and Rise of a Great Power, 1850 to the Present, Second Edition Paperback


In 1850, China was the 'sick man of Asia'. Now it is set to become the most powerful nation on earth.

The Penguin History of Modern China shows how turbulent that journey has been.

For 150 years China has endured as victim of oppression, war and famine.

This makes its current position as arguably the most important global superpower all the more extraordinary.

Jonathan Fenby's comprehensive account is the definitive guide to this remarkable transformation.Reviews:'His book is a miracle of thoroughness, truthfulness and readability - the perfect primer for a time when China is about to enter all our lives' Sunday Telegraph'Jonathan Fenby's ... illuminating book [is] the first major history that looks at the country with the eyes of the 21st century rather than the 20th' Rana Mitter, Financial Times'[It] reads like a novel and is never less than thoughtful and compassionate for the fate of a much-abused people ... [Fenby has] a journalist's eye for telling detail' Herald'Taut, anecdote-studded ... a great introduction for a general audience, with vivid scene setting and character sketches' Michel Sheridan, Sunday Times'For an accessible, authoritative, fair and comprehensive and well written account, this would be hard to better' BBC History'A wonderful history of modern China and a cracking good read' Chris PattenAbout the author:Jonathan Fenby, CBE, has been the editor of the Observer and the South China Morning Post.

His books include Generalissimo: Chiang Kai-shek and the China He Lost and Dealing with the Dragon: A Year in the New Hong Kong.

He is currently Editor-in-Chief and China Editor of the analytical service, Trusted Sources.


  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 816 pages
  • Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd
  • Publication Date:
  • Category: Asian history
  • ISBN: 9780141975153



Free Home Delivery

on all orders

Pick up orders

from local bookshops