Please note: In order to keep Hive up to date and provide users with the best features, we are no longer able to fully support Internet Explorer. The site is still available to you, however some sections of the site may appear broken. We would encourage you to move to a more modern browser like Firefox, Edge or Chrome in order to experience the site fully.

The Berlin Shadow, Paperback / softback Book

The Berlin Shadow Paperback / softback

Paperback / softback

Description

A formally audacious and deeply moving memoir in three timeframes that confronts the defining trauma of the twentieth century, and its effects on a father and son. In 1939, Jonathan Lichtenstein's father Hans escaped Nazi-occupied Berlin as a child refugee on the Kindertransport.

Almost every member of his family died after Kristallnacht, and, arriving in England to make his way in the world alone, Hans turned his back on his German Jewish culture. Growing up in post-war rural Wales where the conflict was never spoken of, Jonathan and his siblings were at a loss to understand their father's relentless drive and sometimes eccentric behaviour.

As Hans enters old age, he and Jonathan set out to retrace his journey back to Berlin.

Published to coincide with the eightieth anniversary, this is a highly compelling account of a father and son's attempt to emerge from the shadows of history. For readers who enjoyed East West Street, The Berlin Shadow is a beautiful memoir about time, trauma and family.

Praise for Jonathan Lichtenstein's work: 'The writing is keenly observed and emotionally resonant. . . an impressive achievement given the breadth of its reach, from Berlin in the 1930s to Bethlehem today' New York Times on Memory

Information

Other Formats

£9.99

£8.75

 
Free Home Delivery

on all orders

 
Pick up orders

from local bookshops

Also by Jonathan Lichtenstein