Please note: In order to keep Hive up to date and provide users with the best features, we are no longer able to fully support Internet Explorer. The site is still available to you, however some sections of the site may appear broken. We would encourage you to move to a more modern browser like Firefox, Edge or Chrome in order to experience the site fully.

Supporting your high street Find out how »
The Taken-Down God : Selected Poems 1997-2008, Paperback / softback Book

The Taken-Down God : Selected Poems 1997-2008 Paperback / softback

Paperback / softback


Acclaimed as one of America's most passionate and intelligent innovators, Jorie Graham writes poems of luminous formal beauty.

Here she selects from the full range of her five most recent books, presenting European readers with a coherent and compelling body of work.

The book complements her Pulitzer Prize-winning The Dream of the Unified Field (1996), which selected work from her first five books.

Here we follow her through the later environmental and political poems of Overlord, Sea Change and other collections.

Her most recent book, P L A C E, was awarded the Forward Prize in 2012. Jorie Graham's poems address a planet spinning towards an unknowable future.

They challenge us to inhabit a more responsive and responsible place in language and the world.

Her poetry is as urgent as it is essential.




Free Home Delivery

on all orders

Pick up orders

from local bookshops

Also by Jorie Graham   |  View all