Please note: In order to keep Hive up to date and provide users with the best features, we are no longer able to fully support Internet Explorer. The site is still available to you, however some sections of the site may appear broken. We would encourage you to move to a more modern browser like Firefox, Edge or Chrome in order to experience the site fully.

Fadeout : Dave Brandstetter Investigation 1, Paperback / softback Book

Fadeout : Dave Brandstetter Investigation 1 Paperback / softback

Part of the Dave Brandstetter series

Paperback / softback


'After forty years, Hammett has a worthy successor' The TimesRadio personality Fox Olsen seemed to have it all: devoted wife, adoring fans, perfect life.

When his car is found crashed in a dry river bed, all of California mourns.

But there is no body... Insurance investigator Dave Brandstetter is hired to dig a little deeper. And the more he looks into Fox Olsen's life, the more it seems as if he had good reason to disappear.

Fadeout is the first novel starring Dave Brandstetter - one of the best fictional PIs in the business, and one of the first ever gay ones.

Joseph Hansen's groundbreaking novels follow Brandstetter as he investigates cases in which motives are murky, passions run high, and nothing is ever as simple as it looks.

Set in 1970s and 80s California, the series is a fascinating portrait of a time and a place, with mysteries to match Chandler and Macdonald.


Other Formats

Save 6%



Free Home Delivery

on all orders

Pick up orders

from local bookshops


Also in the Dave Brandstetter series  |  View all