Please note: In order to keep Hive up to date and provide users with the best features, we are no longer able to fully support Internet Explorer. The site is still available to you, however some sections of the site may appear broken. We would encourage you to move to a more modern browser like Firefox, Edge or Chrome in order to experience the site fully.

The Whispers of War, Paperback / softback Book

The Whispers of War Paperback / softback

Paperback / softback

Description

August, 1939, Britain watches the headlines in fear of another devastating war with Germany and three women must choose between friendship or country. Socialite Nora is determined to find her place in the Home Office's Air Raid Precautions Department, while matchmaker, Hazel, tries to mask two closely guarded secrets with irrepressible optimism, and German ex-pat Marie worries that she and her family might face imprisonment in an internment camp if war is declared. When Germany invades Poland and tensions on the home front rise, Marie is labelled an enemy alien, and the three friends find themselves fighting together to keep her free at any cost. The Whispers of War is a moving and unforgettable tale of the power and strength of friendship in a time of conflict.

Perfect for fans of Lilac Girls, A Woman of War and The Secret Orphan.

Praise for Julia Kelly:'A heartbreaking romance that will grip you from the very beginning' Washington Post'Kelly deftly balances intrigue with mystery and historical detail in her latest novel...

A charming imagining of the historical gunner girls' Kirkus Review'Kelly weaves an intricate, tender, and convincing tale of war and romance with skill and suspense' Publishers Weekly

Information

Other Formats

£8.99

£8.19

 
Free Home Delivery

on all orders

 
Pick up orders

from local bookshops

Information

Also by Julia Kelly  |  View all