Please note: In order to keep Hive up to date and provide users with the best features, we are no longer able to fully support Internet Explorer. The site is still available to you, however some sections of the site may appear broken. We would encourage you to move to a more modern browser like Firefox, Edge or Chrome in order to experience the site fully.

Hurricane Child, Paperback / softback Book

Hurricane Child Paperback / softback

Paperback / softback

Description

Winner of the Stonewall Book Award and the Lambda Literary Award By National Book Award winner Kacen Callender, this exquisite novel reminds us that grief and love can open the world in mystical ways. "The stakes are high, the revelations are serious, and Callender doesn't sugarcoat...

But Caroline's insistence on love, no matter what, might just be what young readers need to see." - The New York Times Caroline Murphy is a Hurricane Child. Being born during a hurricane is unlucky, and 12-year-old Caroline has had her share of bad luck lately.

She's hated and bullied by everyone in her small school on St.

Thomas of the US Virgin Islands, a spirit only she can see won't stop following her, and - worst of all - Caroline's mother left home one day and never came back. But when a new student named Kalinda arrives, Caroline's luck begins to turn around.

Kalinda, a solemn girl from Barbados with a special smile for everyone, becomes Caroline's first and only friend -- and the person for whom Caroline has begun to develop a crush. Now, Caroline must find the strength to confront her feelings for Kalinda, brave the spirit stalking her through the islands, and face the reason her mother abandoned her.

Together, Caroline and Kalinda must set out in a hurricane to find Caroline's missing mother -- before Caroline loses her for ever. Perfect for fans of Boy At the Back of the Class, Pocketful of Stars, and Rooftoppers. This arresting debut novel won the Stonewall Book Award as well as the Lambda Literary Award. From the author of bestselling Felix Ever After. If you love this story, check out Kacen Callender's National-Book-Award-winning King and the Dragonflies!

Information

Other Formats

£6.99

£5.75

 
Free Home Delivery

on all orders

 
Pick up orders

from local bookshops

Information

Also by KACEN CALLENDER  |  View all