Please note: In order to keep Hive up to date and provide users with the best features, we are no longer able to fully support Internet Explorer. The site is still available to you, however some sections of the site may appear broken. We would encourage you to move to a more modern browser like Firefox, Edge or Chrome in order to experience the site fully.

Guardian Of The Dead, Paperback / softback Book

Guardian Of The Dead Paperback / softback

Paperback / softback

Description

This is an intriguing YA urban fantasy in the tradition of Holly Black and Wicked Lovely.

Set in New Zealand, Ellie's main concerns at her boarding school are hanging out with her best friend Kevin, her crush on the mysterious Mark, and her paper deadline.

That is, until a mysterious older woman seems to set her sights on Kevin, who is Maori, and has more than just romantic plans for him.

In an effort to save him, Ellie is thrown into the world of Maori lore, and eventually finds herself in an all-out war with mist dwelling Maori fairy people called the patupaiarehe who need human lives to gain immortality. The strong, fresh voice of the narrator will pull readers in, along with all the deliciously scary details: the serial killer who removes victim's eyes; the mysterious crazy bum who forces a Bible on Ellie telling her she needs it; handsome, mysterious Mark who steals the Bible from her and then casts a forgetting charm on her.

All of this culminates in a unique, incredible adventure steeped with mythology, Maori fairies, monsters, betrayal, and an epic battle.

Information

  • Format:Paperback / softback
  • Pages:368 pages
  • Publisher:Little, Brown & Company
  • Publication Date:
  • Category:
  • ISBN:9780316044387

Other Formats

£17.99

£14.29

 
Free Home Delivery

on all orders

 
Pick up orders

from local bookshops

Information

  • Format:Paperback / softback
  • Pages:368 pages
  • Publisher:Little, Brown & Company
  • Publication Date:
  • Category:
  • ISBN:9780316044387

Also by Karen Healey