Supporting your high street Find out how »
Basket Image


Winter : (Seasons Quartet 2), Hardback Book

Winter : (Seasons Quartet 2) Hardback

Illustrated by Lars Lerin

Part of the Seasons Quartet series


The second volume in his autobiographical quartet based on the seasons, Winter is an achingly beautiful collection of daily meditations and letters addressed directly to Knaugsaard's unborn daughterIt is strange that you exist, but you don't know anything about what the world looks like.

It's strange that there is a first time to see the sky, a first time to see the sun, a first time to feel the air against one's skin.

It's strange that there is a first time to see a face, a tree, a lamp, pyjamas, a shoe.

In my life that almost never happens anymore. But soon it will. In just a few months, I will see you for the first time.

In Winter, we rejoin the great Karl Ove Knausgaard as the birth of his daughter draws near.

In preparation for her arrival, he takes stock of the world, seeing it anew.

While new life is on the horizon, the earth is also in hibernation, waiting for the warmer weather to return.

In his inimitably sensitive style, he writes about everything from the moon, winter boots and messiness, to owls and birthdays.

Taking nothing for granted, he fills these everyday familiar objects and ideas with new meaning.

Startling, compassionate, and exquisitely beautiful, Knausgaard's writing is like nothing else.

Somehow, he shows the world as it really is, at once mundane and sublime.


  • Format: Hardback
  • Pages: 272 pages, artwork by Lars Lerin
  • Publisher: Vintage Publishing
  • Publication Date:
  • Category: Autobiography: general
  • ISBN: 9781910701652



Free Home Delivery

on all orders

Pick up orders

from local bookshops

Also by Karl Ove Knausgaard   |  View all

Also in the Seasons Quartet series   |  View all