Please note: In order to keep Hive up to date and provide users with the best features, we are no longer able to fully support Internet Explorer. The site is still available to you, however some sections of the site may appear broken. We would encourage you to move to a more modern browser like Firefox, Edge or Chrome in order to experience the site fully.

The Mermaid's Scream : Book 21 in the DI Wesley Peterson crime series, Paperback / softback Book

The Mermaid's Scream : Book 21 in the DI Wesley Peterson crime series Paperback / softback

Part of the DI Wesley Peterson series

Paperback / softback


'A beguiling author who interweaves past and present' The TimesMost assumed that literary legend Wynn Staniland stopped writing because of his wife's tragic suicide.

Yet writer Zac Wilkinson hopes to reveal the true story to the world in his upcoming biography of Staniland. When Zac is found brutally murdered, DI Wesley Peterson finds that Staniland is a link between Zac's death and an unexplained poisoning of a couple in a local caravan park.

He suspects that the killings are a grim re-enactment of the murder of Mary Field, which inspired Staniland's best-known novel. As Wesley begins to unravel decades of deception, he discovers that someone close to him is involved - and the truth proves almost too much to bear . . . Whether you've read the whole series, or are discovering Kate Ellis's DI Wesley Peterson novels for the first time, this is the perfect page-turner if you love reading Elly Griffiths and Ann Cleeves. PRAISE FOR KATE ELLIS:'I loved this novel . . . a powerful story of loss, malice and deception' Ann Cleeves'Haunting' Independent'Unputdownable' Bookseller'The chilling plot will keep you spooked and thrilled to the end' Closer'A gripping read' Best'A fine storyteller, weaving the past and present in a way that makes you want to read on' Peterborough Evening Telegraph


Other Formats



Free Home Delivery

on all orders

Pick up orders

from local bookshops


Also by Kate Ellis  |  View all

Also in the DI Wesley Peterson series  |  View all