Please note: In order to keep Hive up to date and provide users with the best features, we are no longer able to fully support Internet Explorer. The site is still available to you, however some sections of the site may appear broken. We would encourage you to move to a more modern browser like Firefox, Edge or Chrome in order to experience the site fully.

A Wake of Crows : The first in a completely thrilling new police procedural series set in Scarborough, Hardback Book

A Wake of Crows : The first in a completely thrilling new police procedural series set in Scarborough Hardback

Part of the DC Donna Morris series



The first in a thrilling new police procedural series set in Scarborough and introducing DCI Donna Morris - middle-aged, seemingly ordinary - but hiding many secrets... Donna Morris has chosen to do her probationary year as detective constable in the small seaside town of Scarborough.

But on her first day, a body is found in the woods: the corpse of Henrik Grunttor presents itself as that of a homeless man, dead from his own drug use.

However, until recently, Grunttor had been working at the local GCHQ centre on the Russian section and the postmortem reveals the cause of his death to be uncertain. Now in her early fifties, Donna has her own reasons for wanting to be in Scarborough, ones she would prefer to keep from her colleagues.

For she's not been drawn there by the landscape or the light, or even the beach, but to be closer to her wayward daughter - a daughter serving time in the nearby prison for GBH.

Yet beyond even this, Donna hides another secret: she grew up in East Berlin, escaping across the wall in the early 1980s. Due to the circumstances of her past Donna is drawn to the dead man whose background is not dissimilar to hers... and her persistence reveals there are several people who wanted Grunttor dead -- and gathered around him in his final days like a wake of crows...


Other Formats



Free Home Delivery

on all orders

Pick up orders

from local bookshops


Also by Kate Evans  |  View all







Also in the DC Donna Morris series