Mr and Mrs Scotland are Dead : Poems 1980-1994, Paperback Book

Mr and Mrs Scotland are Dead : Poems 1980-1994 Paperback


Kathleen Jamie is one of Britain's leading poets. Her work is intelligent and subtle, her language inventive and refreshing.

Mr and Mrs Scotland Are Dead is a selection from her early collections, from times of change and travel.

It reveals the generous range of her concerns, from life in the wilder parts of Pakistan and Tibet to the 'difficult questions' of identity posed in her much celebrated collection, The Queen of Sheba, which was shortlisted for both the T.S.

Eliot and Forward Prizes. Mr and Mrs Scotland Are Dead is a seminal volume in modern Scottish poetry.

Shortlisted for the Griffin Poetry Prize, it was a Poetry Book Society Special Commendation.

It includes most of her poems from Black Spiders (1982), A Flame in Your Heart (1986), The Way We Live (1987), The Autonomous Region (1993) and The Queen of Sheba (1994).


  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 160 pages
  • Publisher: Bloodaxe Books Ltd
  • Publication Date:
  • Category: Poetry by individual poets
  • ISBN: 9781852245863



Free Home Delivery

on all orders

Pick up orders

from local bookshops

Also by Kathleen Jamie   |  View all