Supporting your high street Find out how »
Basket Image


Peter Maxwell Davies Studies, Hardback Book

Peter Maxwell Davies Studies Hardback

Edited by Kenneth Gloag, Nicholas Jones

Part of the Cambridge Composer Studies series


2009 marked the 75th birthday of Sir Peter Maxwell Davies, an occasion that presented an opportunity for reflection upon, and appreciation of, a period of compositional achievement that extends from the 1950s to the present.

This book forms part of that reflection through a statement of the current condition of research on Maxwell Davies's music.

Detailed analytical discussions of individual works, such as the opera Taverner and the First Symphony, coexist with broader issues and perspectives, including Davies's own writings about music, his engagement with sonata form, the compositional source, problems of text, and the situating of this music within and in relation to 'modern times'.

The book describes selected works from all periods of Davies's rich and diverse career, resulting in a portrait of the music that, while it may be incomplete, reveals the essence of this remarkable composer and his music.




Free Home Delivery

on all orders

Pick up orders

from local bookshops

Also in the Cambridge Composer Studies series   |  View all