Please note: In order to keep Hive up to date and provide users with the best features, we are no longer able to fully support Internet Explorer. The site is still available to you, however some sections of the site may appear broken. We would encourage you to move to a more modern browser like Firefox, Edge or Chrome in order to experience the site fully.

The Paris Bookseller, Hardback Book

The Paris Bookseller Hardback

Hardback

Description

'A vivid evocation of the famous female-owned Parisian bookshop...

Kerri Maher writes a love letter to books, bookstores and booklovers everywhere' Kate Quinn, author of The Alice Network'I was completely enthralled' Natasha Lester, author of The Paris SecretThe captivating story of a trailblazing young woman who fought against incredible odds to bring one of the most important books of the twentieth century to the world.

For readers of The Paris Library, The Age of Light and The Paris Wife. PARIS, 1919. Young, bookish Sylvia Beach knows there is no greater city in the world than Paris.

But when she opens an English-language bookshop on the bohemian Left Bank, Sylvia can't yet know she is making history. Many leading writers of the day, from Ernest Hemingway to Gertrude Stein, consider Shakespeare and Company a second home.

Here some of the most profound literary friendships blossom - and none more so than between James Joyce and Sylvia herself. When Joyce's controversial novel Ulysses is banned, Sylvia determines to publish it through Shakespeare and Company.

But the success and notoriety of publishing the most infamous book of the century comes at deep personal cost as Sylvia risks ruin, reputation and her heart in the name of the life-changing power of books... ---'With an abundance of delightful cameos from all your favourite literary heroes as well as a fascinating rendering of Paris's glory days during the 1920s and 30s, this novel will transport you as only the best historical fiction can' Natasha Lester'Intelligent, fierce and filled with reverence for a fascinating epoch in literary history... a delight for readers and writers' Whitney Scharer, author of The Age of Light'Lulls you into an interwar Parisian dream where love - be it romantic, friendly or even for a book - can be found on a quirky little street in the 6th' Kaia Alderson, author of Sisters in Arms

Information

£16.99

£13.29

 
Free Home Delivery

on all orders

 
Pick up orders

from local bookshops

Information

Also by Kerri Maher