Please note: In order to keep Hive up to date and provide users with the best features, we are no longer able to fully support Internet Explorer. The site is still available to you, however some sections of the site may appear broken. We would encourage you to move to a more modern browser like Firefox, Edge or Chrome in order to experience the site fully.

The Complete Knight's Cross : The Years of Defeat 1944-1945 3, Hardback Book

The Complete Knight's Cross : The Years of Defeat 1944-1945 3 Hardback

Part of the The Complete Knight's Cross 3 series



The Knight's Cross of the Iron Cross, to give it its full name, owes its origins to the Pour le Merite (Blue Max), an imperial award dating back to 1740.

The Complete Knight's Cross is the only book to tell the story of all 7,364 men who were awarded it (including all the disputed awards).

The book has over 200 photos of holders of the medal and over 100 photos of their graves.

Volume One deals with 1939-41 (numbers 1-1267) and is subtitled The Years of Victory.

Volume Two deals with 1942-43 (numbers 1268-3685) and is subtitled The Years of Stalemate.

Volume Three deals with 1944-45 (numbers 3686-7364) and is subtitled The Years of Defeat.

The recipients are listed in the order of the date of award.

Each entry starts with the recipients rank and name, followed by details of the action or actions for witch they were awarded it.

Other interesting facts and stories are also included for many of them.

Finally their burial locations, where known are given.

Any higher awards (Oak Leaves, Swords, Diamonds and the ultimate Golden award) are also covered.


Save 26%



Free Home Delivery

on all orders

Pick up orders

from local bookshops