logo
Supporting your high street Find out how »
Basket Image

Basket

The Fields : A brilliantly funny, moving read for fans of 'Derry Girls', Paperback / softback Book

The Fields : A brilliantly funny, moving read for fans of 'Derry Girls' Paperback / softback

Description

'Fresh, beguiling and laugh-out-loud funny on every page, this must be the most enjoyable Irish novel since Skippy Dies' GuardianThey'd sit around in a steamy kitchen circle like four mad witches, and dip ginger-snaps into Maxwell House until they went wobbly-warm, and take turns at saying, Jahear about so-and-so, Lord rest his soul, only thirty years old, poor creature?!

They were brilliant at it. Scaring the shite out of each other, grinning inside. Jim Finnegan is thirteen years old and life in his world consists of dealing with the helter-skelter intensity of his rumbustious family, taking breakneck bike rides with his best friend, and coveting the local girls from afar - until one day when everything changes. The Fields is an unforgettable story of an extraordinary character: Jim's voice leaps off the page and straight into the reader's heart as he grapples with his unfairly interrupted adolescence. Praise for The Fields:'Heartbreaking and hilarious in equal measures' StylistFunny and heart-warming' Daily Mail'The Fields is crazy mad, lyrical and unforgettable' Red 'Exquisite moments of comedy that anyone with a whiff of Irish heritage will immediately recognise' Sunday Express

Information

Other Formats

£7.99

£7.35

 
Free Home Delivery

on all orders

 
Pick up orders

from local bookshops