Home Cooking : A Writer in the Kitchen, Paperback Book

Home Cooking : A Writer in the Kitchen Paperback

4 out of 5 (1 rating)

Description

Published for the first time in the UK, Laurie Colwin's much loved kitchen essays are perfect for fans of Nigella Lawson and Nigel Slater.Weaving together memories, recipes, and wild tales of years spent in the kitchen, Home Cooking is Laurie Colwin's manifesto on the joys of sharing food and entertaining.

From the humble hot-plate of her one-room apartment to the crowded kitchens of bustling parties, Colwin regales us with tales of meals gone both magnificently well and disastrously wrong.Never before published in the UK, this is hilarious, personal and full of Colwin's hard-won expertise.

Home Cooking will speak to the heart (and stomach) of any amateur cook, professional chef, or food lover.Praise for Laurie Colwin:'Everything food writing should be: funny, profound, inspiring and unaffected' Nigella Lawson'I have in my kitchen a book called Home Cooking. And, in between following the recipes for Extremely Easy Old-Fashioned Beef Stew or Estelle Colwin Snellenberg's Potato Pancakes, I would frequently sit down on a little stool in my kitchen and read through one of the essays in that book.

I never read through Joy of Cooking, and I can read The Silver Palate Cookbook standing up, but I always sat down to read these' Anna QuindlenLaurie Colwin is the author of five novels - Happy All the Time, Family Happiness, Goodbye Without Leaving, A Big Storm Knocked It Over and Shine On, Bright and Dangerous Object - three collections of short stories - Passion and Affect, The Lone Pilgrim and Another Marvellous Thing - and two collections of essays, Home Cooking and More Home Cooking.

Laurie Colwin died in 1992.

Information

  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 208 pages
  • Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd
  • Publication Date:
  • Category: General cookery & recipes
  • ISBN: 9780241145715

Other Formats

£12.99

£9.45

 
Free Home Delivery

on all orders

 
Pick up orders

from local bookshops

Reviews

Showing 1 - 1 of 1 reviews.

Review by
4

Fun chatty discursive essays on aspects of cooking, food and people. Based very much on the authors experiences of growing up in the 70s and 80s in New York, but open and available to anybody who enjoys food.I haven't tried any of the recipes yet, but in some respects that's not what this book is about - they recipes are just the basis on which Laurie starts or ends a story. It may not have much re-read appeal. but it'#s certainly entertaining in a light unpretentious style. The topics range from catering for 150 homeless women through to a dinner parties and comfort food.