Shadow and Bone : Book 1, Paperback Book

Shadow and Bone : Book 1 Paperback

Part of the The Grisha series

4.5 out of 5 (2 ratings)

Description

Enter the Grishaverse with Book One of the Shadow and Bone Trilogy by the number one New York Times-bestselling author of Six of Crows and Crooked Kingdom.

Perfect for fans of Laini Taylor and Sarah J. Maas. Soldier. Summoner. Saint. Orphaned and expendable, Alina Starkov is a soldier who knows she may not survive her first trek across the Shadow Fold-a swath of unnatural darkness crawling with monsters.

But when her regiment is attacked, Alina unleashes dormant magic not even she knew she possessed.

Now Alina will enter a lavish world of royalty and intrigue as she trains with the Grisha, her country's magical military elite - and falls under the spell of their notorious leader, the Darkling.

He believes Alina can summon a force capable of destroying the Shadow Fold and reuniting their war-ravaged country, but only if she can master her untamed gift.As the threat to the kingdom mounts and Alina unlocks the secrets of her past, she will make a dangerous discovery that could threaten all she loves and the very future of a nation.Welcome to Ravka . . . a world of science and superstition where nothing is what it seems.Praise for the Grishaverse:"Utterly, extremely bewitching." The Guardian"There's a level of emotional and historical sophistication within Bardugo's original epic fantasy that sets it apart." Vanity Fair"Unlike anything I've ever read." Veronica Roth, bestselling author of Divergent"This is a great choice for teenage fans of George R.R.

Martin and J.R.R. Tolkien." RT Book ReviewsRead all the books in the Grishaverse!The Shadow and Bone Trilogy (previously published as The Grisha Trilogy)Shadow and BoneSiege and StormRuin and RisingThe Six of Crows DuologySix of CrowsCrooked KingdomThe Language of Thorns: Midnight Tales and Dangerous Magic

Information

  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 352 pages
  • Publisher: Hachette Children's Group
  • Publication Date:
  • Category: General
  • ISBN: 9781780622262

Other Formats

£7.99

£6.49

 
Free Home Delivery

on all orders

 
Pick up orders

from local bookshops

Reviews

Showing 1 - 2 of 2 reviews.

Review by
5

So only a sick and twisted person would still ship Alina and The Darkling right? .... well, I always knew something was off with me :P.I wasn't that sure of what to expect when I started reading it, but I'll tell you one thing, this book was without a doubt so much better than I have hoped. I recommend this to anyone who likes fantasy YA books, well worth the read.This book... so many feels. Need my hands on the next one already damn it.

Review by
3.5

really enjoyed this book, I don't really read a lot of fantasy, however I am gradually weaning myself in slowly.Shadow and Bone is told by Alina's POV throughout the book. The story starts off slow with story of Alina and Mal becoming orphans and meeting some Grisha and then jumps to present day and goes at a fairly good pace throughout the book.The book is set in russian-esque setting and makes the story feel more mystical.. There seems to be magic but not a lot of mystical creatures the main being the Volcra.The book does jump back and forward in time from when Alina and Mal were growing up to flashbacks and present day, however the time period in which the story is set is not clear.There is a map at the front of the book which helped a lot with the world building as I could follow Alina on her travels. The world building was fantastic as I felt I was there beside them witnessing this surreal world and the Volcra.I had a few problems with the book:How is the darkling 120 years old but looks the same age as Alina? There is not much of a back story to the Darkling. Yeah he lived so long because of his powers, but the book didn't delve into Grisha's life expectancy, this is something minor but I need to know these things.The world of Grisha is very vain and annoying, they all have to be beautiful and if their not, they have somebody who can make them *perfect* so to speak. All the clothes and the setting that they reside has to be nothing but sheer beauty and the best.I thought Alina was annoying, very shallow and her feelings of being inept was getting on my nerves. Mal was portrayed as being a player at the start of the book but actually he is a very sweet and caring guy who will do anything for AlinaI found it a bit confusing when they called 'the unsea' the shadow fold and also the color coding caste of the Grisha was a bit too much to get a grasp of, in the end I just let it go over my head as you didn't really need to know and wasnt necessary for you to be able to follow the storyline.This book explores love triangles, forbidden love, betrayal, Vanity, Greed and war.There is a lot of hype around this series with even Veronica Roth the author of Divergent quoting "unlike anything I have ever read" For me personally this book is good and an easy read, however I felt it could have been written and explained a bit better.

Also by Leigh Bardugo   |  View all