Please note: In order to keep Hive up to date and provide users with the best features, we are no longer able to fully support Internet Explorer. The site is still available to you, however some sections of the site may appear broken. We would encourage you to move to a more modern browser like Firefox, Edge or Chrome in order to experience the site fully.

Blink of an Eye : A gripping crime thriller with an unforgettable detective duo, Paperback / softback Book

Blink of an Eye : A gripping crime thriller with an unforgettable detective duo Paperback / softback

Part of the Butler & West series

Paperback / softback

Description

Five friends meet. Only four come home. On Christmas morning, DS Robin Butler has no plans to celebrate.

He'll be glad to get back to work - a wish that comes true sooner than he anticipates.

A dog walker at a local beach has discovered five unresponsive people strewn across the shingle.

By the time Robin arrives, one is pronounced dead, and the other four are being treated in hospital.

DC Freya West is less than pleased when the romantic day with her boyfriend is scuppered, but duty calls.

As she and Butler speak to those involved, it's clear something is being left unsaid.

They claim they are friends, and that they don't know how one of the group was killed.

But why are they so cagey? A cold case investigation unlocks some answers about the history between the beach-going gang, yet they're tight-lipped about what prompted them to meet on Christmas Eve.

Butler and West are getting nowhere, and their partnership is about to face another test.

When Freya wants to come clean about events in her past, it's not just her neck on the line, but Robin's too.

Can their relationship survive if their pact of silence is broken?

The thrilling new instalment from policing's most dauntless duo.

Perfect for fans of Cara Hunter, Jane Casey and Susie Steiner.

Praise for Blink of an Eye'A thrilling and unusual mystery, spiced with sadness, masterfully unspooling past secrets into present danger.

Butler and West would make high quality Sunday night network television.' Dominic Nolan, author of Vine Street'Butler and West are fast becoming my favourite detective partnership...

Addictive reading!' Alison Belsham, author of The Tattoo Thief'The untangling of the long-held web of lies from The Five was expertly done... the story telling seems so effortlessly easy, and before you know it, you're chapters in and can't stop.' Fliss Chester, author of A Dangerous Goodbye'Blink of an Eye is a blindingly brilliant return to the Butler and West series, with a tight-knit and claustrophobic friendship group at the core of its mystery.

The chemistry between detectives Freya and Robin is the absolute star of the show - the twists and turns of their partnership will leave you desperate for more.

Cannot recommend this series enough!' Heather Critchlow'I've just raced through Blink of an Eye and couldn't put it down.

A Christmas Day body found on a beach, and a suspicious group of old friends...

What's not to love! Tense, brilliant plotting and the perfect duo.' Rachael Blok, author of The Fall'A punchy and pacy police procedural with heart.' Jo Furniss, author of All The Little Children'Great characters and a compelling mystery.

Highly recommend.' Reader review'Blink of an Eye, the fourth in Butler and West series, is one of the most intriguing British police procedurals published today...with atmospheric, well described settings.' Reader review'A solid mystery with a tangled web at heart, perfectly crafted characters and a smart narrative.

Both compelling and immersive.' Reader review

Information

£8.99

£7.19

 
Free Home Delivery

on all orders

 
Pick up orders

from local bookshops

Information

Also by LOUISA SCARR

Also in the Butler & West series