Please note: In order to keep Hive up to date and provide users with the best features, we are no longer able to fully support Internet Explorer. The site is still available to you, however some sections of the site may appear broken. We would encourage you to move to a more modern browser like Firefox, Edge or Chrome in order to experience the site fully.

Supporting your high street Find out how »
The Liverpool Matchgirl: The heartwarming saga from the SUNDAY TIMES bestselling author, Paperback / softback Book

The Liverpool Matchgirl: The heartwarming saga from the SUNDAY TIMES bestselling author Paperback / softback

Paperback / softback

Description

Parentless and alone on the streets of Liverpool, Lizzie must fight for a brighter future... Curl up this winter with a heart-warming and poignant saga by Sunday Times best selling author Lyn Andrews.

Set in Liverpool in the years before the First World War, Liverpool Matchgirl is the perfect read for fans of Dilly Court, Rosie Goodwin or Call the Midwife. Liverpool, 1901. The Tempest family is all but destitute, barely able to put food on the table.

When Florrie falls ill with pneumonia and Arthur is imprisoned after a drunken fight, their thirteen-year-old daughter Lizzie finds herself parentless, desperate and alone. Despite her young age, Lizzie has spirit and determination, and she knows that she must find work to keep herself off the streets.

In a stroke of luck, she gets a job in the match factory, and foreman George Rutherford takes her under his wing.

A new home with the Rutherfords promises a safe haven, but the years ahead will be far from trouble-free. And when Lizzie gives her heart, how can she be sure she has chosen a better man than her own father?What readers are saying about The Liverpool Matchgirl:'I couldn't put it down' Amazon reader, 5 stars'Love this book...another brilliant novel from a brilliant author' Amazon reader, 5 stars'An excellent read, Lyn Andrews never disappoints' Amazon reader, 5 stars

Information

£8.99

£8.15

 
Free Home Delivery

on all orders

 
Pick up orders

from local bookshops

Also by Lyn Andrews   |  View all