Please note: In order to keep Hive up to date and provide users with the best features, we are no longer able to fully support Internet Explorer. The site is still available to you, however some sections of the site may appear broken. We would encourage you to move to a more modern browser like Firefox, Edge or Chrome in order to experience the site fully.

The Man in Black : A compelling, twisty historical crime novel, Paperback / softback Book

The Man in Black : A compelling, twisty historical crime novel Paperback / softback

Part of the Detective Charles Maddox series

Paperback / softback

Description

London, 1850: The Dickensian streets grow darker by the day. Private investigator Charles Maddox is surprised when he is approached by Edward Tulkinghorn for help.

The feared and shadowy attorney offers Charles a handsome price he can't refuse to do some sleuthing for a client.

Charles learns that Sir Julius Cremorne has been receiving threatening letters, and now Tulkinghorn wants him to find and stop whoever is responsible. But what starts as a simple, open-and-shut case swiftly escalates into something bigger and much darker.

As he cascades toward a collision with powerful forces, Charles will need all the assistance he can get... The Man in Black takes a classic Charles Dickens novel and plummets readers into a newly reimagined and mysterious world.

Fans of The Confessions of Frannie Langton and Stacey Halls will love this. Previously published as The Solitary House.

Information

£8.99

£7.19

 
Free Home Delivery

on all orders

 
Pick up orders

from local bookshops

Information

Also by Lynn Shepherd  |  View all

Also in the Detective Charles Maddox series