Please note: In order to keep Hive up to date and provide users with the best features, we are no longer able to fully support Internet Explorer. The site is still available to you, however some sections of the site may appear broken. We would encourage you to move to a more modern browser like Firefox, Edge or Chrome in order to experience the site fully.

The Railway Girls : Their bond will see them through, Paperback / softback Book

The Railway Girls : Their bond will see them through Paperback / softback

Part of the The railway girls series series

Paperback / softback

Description

The first novel in the wonderful new Railway Girls series, perfect for fans of Nancy Revell and Ellie Dean. _____________________ 'Stunning writing [and] perfectly paced' Frost Magazine'A story of true friendship, love, loss and trust' Candis _____________________In February, 1922, at the western-most entrance to Victoria Station in Manchester, a massive plaque was unveiled.

Beneath a vast tiled map showing the lines of the Lancashire and Yorkshire Railway network, a series of seven bronze panels recorded the names of the men of the Lancashire and Yorkshire Railway who gave their lives for King and Country in the Great War - a total of 1,460 names. In March, 1940, a group of women of varying ages and backgrounds, stand in front of the memorial, ready to do their bit in this new World War... _____________________Mabel is determined to make a fresh start as a railway girl where no one will know the terrible thing she did and she can put her guilt behind her... Or is she just running away?Meanwhile Joan will never be as good as her sister, or so her Gran keeps telling her.

A new job as a station clerk could be just the thing she needs to forget her troubles at home. And Dot is further into her forties than she cares to admit.

Her beloved sons are away fighting and her husband - well, the less said about him the better.

Ratty old sod. She is anxious to become a railway girl just like her dear mam - anything to feel she is supporting the sons she prays for every night. The three women start off as strangers, but soon form an unbreakable bond that will get them through the toughest of times... _____________________ **Maisie's brand new novel THE RAILWAY GIRLS IN LOVE is available to pre-order now.

Just search: 9781787463981**

Information

Other Formats

£6.99

£6.95

 
Free Home Delivery

on all orders

 
Pick up orders

from local bookshops

Information