Please note: In order to keep Hive up to date and provide users with the best features, we are no longer able to fully support Internet Explorer. The site is still available to you, however some sections of the site may appear broken. We would encourage you to move to a more modern browser like Firefox, Edge or Chrome in order to experience the site fully.

The End of the Ocean, EPUB eBook

The End of the Ocean EPUB

EPUB

Please note: eBooks can only be purchased with a UK issued credit card and all our eBooks (ePub and PDF) are DRM protected.

Description

From the author of the number oneinternational bestseller The History of Bees, a captivating new novel about the threat of a worldwide water shortage as seen through the eyes of a father and daughter.

The story of a present-day Norwegian eco-campaigner alternates with that of a French family in the overheated future. They are in a camp for refugees from eco-disaster but it's not all doom and gloom. They find friendship, love and an unexpected gift from the pastWendy Holden,Daily Mail

2019:seventy-year-old Signe sets out on a hazardous voyage to cross an entire ocean in only a sailboat. She is haunted by the loss of the love of her life, and is driven by a singular and all-consuming mission to make it back to him.

2041:David flees with his young daughter, Lou, from a war-torn Southern Europe plagued by drought. They are on a desperate search to reunite with their family when they find Signe's abandoned sailboat in a parched French garden, miles away from the nearest shore.

As David and Lou discover personal effects from Signe's travels, their journey of survival and hope weaves together with Signe's, forming a heartbreaking, inspiring story about the power of nature and the human spirit.

Praise for The History of Bees:

';Fans of Cloud Atlas and Never Let Me Go will love The History of Bees' Good Housekeeping

';Dystopian and electric, this book is set to blow minds everywhere Stylist

Haunting and poignant ... an important and wonderful book Dave Goulson, bestselling author of Bee Quest

';Spectacular and deeply moving. Lunde has elegantly woven together a tale of science and science fiction, dystopia and hope, and the trials of the individual and the strengths of family' Lisa See, New York Times bestselling author

';Such is the genius of debut novelist Maja Lunde that her tale of three eras... is strung on the fragile hope of the survival of bees' Jacquelyn Mitchard, New York Times bestselling author

';As a lover of honeybees and a fan of speculative fiction, I was doubly smitten by The History of Bees. Maja Lunde's novel is an urgent reminder of how much our survival depends on those remarkable insects. It is also a gripping account of howdespite the cruelest losseshumanity may abide and individual families can heal' Jean Hegland, author of Into the Forest

';By turns devastating and hopeful, The History of Beesresonates powerfully with our most pressing environmental concerns' Bryn Greenwood, New York Times bestselling author

';Here is a story that is sweeping in scope but intimate in detail' Laura McBride, author of We Are Called to Rise

Information

Other Formats