Please note: In order to keep Hive up to date and provide users with the best features, we are no longer able to fully support Internet Explorer. The site is still available to you, however some sections of the site may appear broken. We would encourage you to move to a more modern browser like Firefox, Edge or Chrome in order to experience the site fully.

The Physician's Daughter : An engrossing historical fiction novel about the role of women in society, Hardback Book

The Physician's Daughter : An engrossing historical fiction novel about the role of women in society Hardback

Hardback

Description

'Historical fiction at its best' Tracy Rees, author of The Rose GardenA compelling novel of female perseverance and the role of women in society set in the aftermath of the American Civil War.

For readers of Tracy Chevalier. In a world made for men, can one woman break free from tradition and walk a new path? It is 1865, the American Civil War has just ended, and 18-year old Vita Tenney is determined to pursue her lifelong dream of becoming a country doctor like her father.

But when her father tells her she must get married instead, Vita explores every means of escape - and finds one in the person of war veteran Jacob Culhane.

Damaged by what he's seen in battle and with all his family gone, Jacob is seeking investors for a fledgling business.

Then he meets Vita - and together they hatch a plan that should satisfy both their desires. Months later, Vita seemingly has everything she ever wanted.

But alone in a big city and haunted by the mistakes of her past, she wonders if the life she always thought she wanted was too good to be true.

When love starts to compete with ambition, what will come out on top?From the author of The Floating Theatre, The Physician's Daughter is the story of two people trying to make their way in a world that is struggling to escape its past. 'Vividly realised, and impeccably researched, with a determined female lead' Kayte Nunn, author of The Botanist's Daughter'A riveting read set during the American civil war, about a pioneering young woman dead-set on becoming a doctor' Inga Vesper, author of The Long, Long Afternoon'A compelling story' Heat Magazine'In the proud tradition of female characters from Jo March to Meredith Grey, Vita Tenney takes her place as a determined woman unwilling to let society or her family control her destiny.

I was captivated by The Physician's Daughter. The novel stays with you' Tony Phelan, executive producer of Grey's Anatomy'Completely charming' Imogen Hermes Gowar, author of The Mermaid and Mrs Hancock on The Floating Theatre

Information

£16.99

£12.79

 
Free Home Delivery

on all orders

 
Pick up orders

from local bookshops

Information

Also by Martha Conway